Here is the complete history of Kolkata tram routes, from 1873 to 2020.

## **HORSE TRAM ERA**

- 1873 Opening of horse tram as meter gauge, closure in the same year.
- 1880 Final opening of horse tram as a permanent system. Calcutta Tramways Company was established.
- 1881 -Dalhousie Square - Lalbazar - Bowbazar - Lebutala - Sealdah **Station**. (Later route 14) Esplanade - Lalbazar - Pagyapatti - Companybagan - Shobhabazar -Kumortuli. (Later route 7 after extension) Dalhousie Square – Esplanade. (Later route 22, 24, 25 & 29) Esplanade – Planetarium - Hazra Park - Kalighat. (Later route 30) 1882 -Esplanade - Wellington Square - Bowbazar - Boipara - Hatibagan -Shyambazar Junction. (Later route 5) Wellington Square - Moula Ali - Sealdah Station. (Later route 12 after extension) Dalhousie Square - Metcalfe Hall - High Court. (Later route 14 extension) Metcalfe Hall - Howrah Bridge - Nimtala. (Later route 19). Steam tram service was thought.

## **STEAM TRAM ERA**

- 1883 Esplanade Racecourse Wattganj **Khidirpur**. (Later route 36)
- 1884 Wellington Square Park Street. (Later route 21 & 22 after extension)
- 1900 Nimtala Companybagan (non-revenue service only). Electrification & conversion to standard gauge was started.

## **ELECTRIC TRAM ERA**

1902 -	Khidirpur & Kalighat routes were electrified. Shobhabazar – Hatibagan. (Later route 9 & 10)
	Nonapukur Workshop opened with Royd Street – <b>Nonapukur</b> (Later route 21 & 22 after re-extension). Royd Street – Park Street closed.
1903 -	Shyambazar terminus opened with Shyambazar – Belgachhia.
	(Later route 1, 2, 3, 4 & 11)
	Kalighat – <b>Tollyganj</b> . (Later route 29 & 32)
1904 -	Kumortuli – <b>Bagbazar</b> . Kumortuli terminus closed. (Later route 7 & 8)
1905 -	Howrah Bridge – Pagyapatti – Boipara – Purabi Cinema - Sealdah
	Station (Later route 15). All remaining then-opened routes were
	electrified.
1907 -	Moula Ali – Nonapukur. (Later route 20 & 26 after extension)
	Wattganj – Mominpur (via direct access through Ofphanganjbazar).
	(Later route 31)
1908 -	Shyambazar Junction – <b>Galiff Street</b> . (Later route 12)
	Howrah Station – Ghasbagan - Bandhaghat. (Later route 41 & 42)
	Howrah Station – <b>Shibpur</b> . (Later route 40)
	Hazra Park – Mominpur – <b>Behala</b> old terminus (via Majherhat old
	bridge). (Later route 27 & 35)

- 1910 Sealdah Station Mirzapur **Rajabazar**. (Later route 12)
- 1925 Nonapukur **Parkcircus**. (Later route 20, 21 & 22)
- 1922 Orphanganjbazar direct access was replaced by present alignment via Wattganj Junction.
- 1927 **Racecourse** terminus built for race special tram service.
- 1928 Kalighat Junction **Ballyganj**. (Later route 24 & 27 extension)
- 1941 Rajabazar Shyambazar Junction. (Later route 12 & 13)
- Howrah Bridge Howrah Station (via Howrah Bridge). Route 11, 20, 21, 22, 30 & 32 were extended to Howrah Station.
  Gariahat depot opened with Parkcircus Gariahat Junction. (Later route 25 & 26)
- 1952 Dalhousie Square terminus redesigned, outside park tracks brought into the park.
- 1960 Esplanade terminus redesigned.
- 1964 Majherhat new bridge built.
- 1971 Behala new terminus built.
  - Howrah Station **Ghasbagan Bandhaghat** closed, Ghasbagan depot became a goods vehicle stock depot. (Route 41, 42) Howrah Station **Shibpur** closed. (Route 40)
- 1973 Howrah Bridge **Nimtala** Companybagan section closed. (Route 19)
- 1976 Howrah Station terminus redesigned after closure of Bandhaghat & Shibpur route, converted to private bus terminus and opening of pedestrian subway.

Racecourse terminus closed.

- 1978 Esplanade Planetarium Hazra Park closed for conversion to metro line 1.
- 1979 Esplanade **Planetarium** reopened. (Route 12A)
- 1980 Purabi Cinema Mirzapur. (Route 13 diversion)
- 1981 Lebutala Purabi Cinema. (Route 14 diversion) Esplanade – Lalbazar closed. (Route 3, 7 & 9) Lebutala - **Sealdah Station** terminus closed for flyover, but trams
- continued serving Sealdah Station. (Route 13 & 14 diversion)
- 1982 Sealdah flyover opened, with tram track on it.
  1985 Maniktala Ultadanga old terminus. (Route 16 & 17)
- 1986 Behala **Joka**. (Route 37)
- 1992 Esplanade **Planetarium** reclosed. (Route 12A). Bus service introduced.
- Howrah Station terminus closed and converted to public bus terminus. Route 11, 20 & 26 had come back to Howrah Bridge terminus.
   Metcalfe Hall Howrah Bridge terminus closed. (Route 15, 21, 30 & 32

diversion)

Ultadanga new terminus opened.

- 1995 Dalhousie Square Metcalfe Hall **High Court** closed. Route 14 had come back to Dalhousie Square terminus.
- 1998 Gariahat Depot Gariahat Junction closed. (Route 25 & 26 had come back to Gariahat Depot)
- 2002 Mominpur Behala closed. (Route 27, 35 & 37)
- 2004 Shyambazar Junction Galiff Street closed. (Route 13, route 12 had come back to Rajabazar)
- 2008 Dalhousie Square terminus redesigned for underground car parking.
- 2011 **Behala Joka** closed for conversion to metro line 3.

- 2012 **Bagbazar** terminus closed, Bagbazar Galiff Street section doubled. (Route 8 had extended to Galiff Street)
- 2019 Maniktala Shyambazar Belgachhia closed. Belgachhia depot became a full bus depot. (Route 1, 2, & 4. Route 11 had started from Shyambazar terminus) Mirzapur - Sealdah - Moula Ali - Nonapukur closed. (Route 12, 17, 20, 26) Wellington Square - Moula Ali closed. (Route 12, 17)
   2020 - Rajabazar - Maniktala - Ultadanga closed. (Route 16, 17, 18).
- 2020 Rajabazar Maniktala Ultadanga closed. (Route 16, 17, 18).
   Khidirpur Esplanade closed. (Route 36).
   Kalighat Wattganj closed. (Route 24, 29, 30).

Depots -

Kalighat – 1881 to still running, tram depot. (Route 30, 31) Khidirpur – 1883 to 2020, now bus depot. (Route 36)

Belgachhia – 1903 to 2019 = 116 years, now bus depot. (Route 1, 2, 3, 4, 11)

Tollyganj – 1903 to still running, now tram & bus depot. (Route 29, 32)

Ghasbagan – 1908 to 1971 = 63 years, now bus depot. (Route 41)

Rajabazar – 1910 to still running, now tram & bus depot. (Route 14)

Parkcircus – 1925, temporarily suspended as tram depot (?), working as bus depot. (Route 20, 21, 22)

Gariahat – 1943 to still running, now tram & bus depot. (No specific route originally)

Termini-

Esplanade – 1881 to still running, partly converted to bus terminus, partly abandoned. (Route 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 12, 15, 17, 19, 21, 22, 24, 25, 29, 30, 31, 35, 36, 37) Dalhousie Square – 1881, temporarily suspended (?), partly converted to underground car parking & fair ground. (Route 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 13, 14, 16, 22, 24, 25, 29) Sealdah Station – 1881 to 1981 = 100 years, formerly converted to bus & taxi stand, now is being converted to metro station gate. (Route 14) High Court – 1882 to 1995 = 113 years, converted to high court new building. (Route 14, 15) Nimtala – 1882 to 1973 = 91 years, abandoned. (Route 19) Shyambazar – 1903 to still running. (Route 5, 6, 9, 10) Bagbazar -1904 to 2012 = 108 years, abandoned. (Route 7, 8) Galiff Street – 1908, temporarily suspended (?), partly abandoned. (Route 12, 13) Howrah Station -1908 to 1994 = 86 years, now bus terminus. (Route 11, 12, 13, 18, 20, 21, 26, 30, 32, 40, 41, 42) Bandhaghat – 1908 to 1971 = 63 years, now bus terminus. (Route 41, 42) Shibpur – 1908 to 1971 = 63 years, now bus terminus. (Route 40) Behala – 1908 to 2011 = 103 years, abandoned. (Route 27, 25) Racecourse – 1927 to 1976 = 49 years, abandoned. (Race specials only) Ballyganj – 1928 to still running. (Route 24, 25, 26, 27) Planetarium – 1979 to 1992 = 13 years, now park. (Route 12A) Ultadanda – 1985 to 2020 = 35 years, abandoned. (Route 16, 17, 18) Joka – 1986 to 2011 = 25 years, now bus terminus. (Route 37) Howrah Bridge – 1995 to still running, partly abandoned. (Route 11, 18, 20, 21, 26, 30, 32)

```
Presently only route 5, 11, 15/12, 22, 24/29 & 25 are running.
```